Jacobs Ladder

The Secret Teachings of All Ages, remains one of the most popular introductions to esoteric traditions. Hall was a student of alchemy and all esoteric fields.

Manly Palmer Hall (March 18, 1901- August 29, 1990) was a Canadian –born mystic, philosopher, lecturer interpreter of the ancient writings and author.
He is best known for his 1928 work “The Secret Teachings of All Ages”. More than 80 years later, “with more than a million copies sold.

In 1934, Hall founded the Philosophical Research Society in California, a nonprofit organization dedicated to the study of religion, mythology, metaphysics, and the occult.
In his over 70-year career, Hall delivered approximately 8,000 lectures in the U. S and abroad, authored over 150 books and essays, and wrote countless magazine articles.

Jacobs’s ladder- a ladder of growth by Manly Palmer Hall

According to Hall Jacobs the Ladder has 7 steps. These steps represent the steps one must climb in order to grow spiritually. As taught by many teachers we are here to evolve and we are evolving whether we like it or not. The speed of evolution though differs from person to person. Others are dedicated to evolving and others evolve by default. If one wants to do this in a more concise and ordered form then he/she can follow these 7 steps of Jacobs Ladder.
According to Hall these 7 steps are associated with the attributes given to the 7 main “planets” visible from earth. The important thing Hall points to is the fact that one should not bypass a step without actually surmounting it.

Step 1

Moon: relates to purification of the mind, overcoming of evil thoughts.

Step 2

Mercury: relates with communication and intelligence procured from the training of the mind through formal education.
To pass this step one needs to distinguish what is worth knowing and discarding what is if no importance.

Step 3

Venus: this step deals with emotional maturity. True emotions lead to self improvement but when one is emotionally immature tends to be overwhelmed with the physical emotional  gratification and is unable to find the balance between physical pleasure and spiritual maturity.

Step 4

Sun: even though this is not considered a planet it still has its attributes. The Sun is the life giver, it contributes to all life forms without asking for anything. Thus a person needs to develop such virtue and become a giver, a giver of life, joy and all the necessities for healthy growth without asking for something in return.

Step 5

Mars: Mars is a planet related with competition, yang energy but also courage. We have since long identified Mars with war but actually when the energy of Mars is balanced it gives courage of self-sacrifice for the betterment of all. For example a soldier is willing to give his life in order to save his people.

Step 6

Jupiter: Jupiter is the father figure the leader. In order to pass this step one has to learn to lead without abusing ones power. This is not an easy step even though it might seem so to the ones who have not reached it because once one gets power it is very easy to get consumed in the power hunger and the malefic pleasure one gets from abusing this power and others. Jupiter is also related with Judgment, philosophy and worldly wisdom.

Step 7

Saturn: this is the last step and hence the most difficult one. Those who reach this step are the sages. Saturn is all about the balance of spirit and the material existence. Here, after patiently overcoming every step we have to deal with all kinds of fear and anxiety. When we overcome fear then balance comes by itself as we have a complete self realization and we become this stable force of nature that does not have to prove anything anymore and stability rules the existence



Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *